Saint Athanasius

No public posts in this group. You must login and become a member in order to post messages, and view any private posts.
-A A +A
Saint Athanasius

Mass Schedule:

Saturday Vigil:4:00 p.m. Mass from (October-March) 5:00 p.m. Mass from April- September; Sunday: 7:30, 9:30, 11:30 a.m.

Weekdays: M-F 7:00 a.m.; Sat. 8:00 a.m.

Confessions:

Saturday: 12:00 p.m.-12:30 p.m.

Javascript is required to view this map.

Administrative Center:

7 Chalfonte Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15229
Phone: 412-931-4624
Fax: 412-939-3516

Convent: Saint Athanasius:

19 Chalfonte Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15229
Phone: 412-931-1340

Religious Education:

7 Chalfonte Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15229
Phone: 412-931-4624


Clergy:

Rev. Robert A. Norton, Pastor
Rev. Leroy A. DiPietro, In Residence
Deacon Gary L. Comer
Deacon William R. Palamara Jr.

Additional Information:

Parish ID:

05601

Open Date:

1907

Neighborhoods Served:

West View

St. Athanasius is a strong Catholic Community of believers reaching out to others with the commitment to share God's love. At our core is the Eucharist, from which flows our call to serve. The vitality of the present has evolved from our treasured past and is the foundation for a promising future.

As children of God, each of us is challenged to share our unique gifts with others. Built through the stewardship of generations of families, St. Athanasius is a welcoming community that nurtures faith and grows in the Catholic Tradition. Through vibrant gospel centered liturgies and numerous ministries, St. Athanasius strives to show God's love to all.

We Are Family...We Are Friends...We Are Church

Parish History

St. Athanasius was established on July 8, 1907.  The parish was founded as a result of the growth of population in the area.  During the winter of 1906 to 1907, local Catholics met to plan for their own parish.  They petitioned the bishop for a parish and the bishop approved the petition.  The first Mass in the new parish was celebrated on July 14, 1907, in a barn.  Soon afterwards work began on a building that would contain the church, two classrooms, a convent and rectory.  In addition, the basement would hold a dining room, kitchen and bowling alleys.

The cornerstone of the building was laid on June 28, 1908, and the completed building was dedicated on June 6, 1909.  The church occupied the second floor of the building.  As the parish grew, the parish plant grew with it.  A rectory was built in 1924 and in 1928 an annex was added to the building to hold additional classrooms.  Soon the congregation outgrew the church.  On July 22, 1941, ground was broken for a new church and on May 2, 1943, it was dedicated.  The old church was abandoned, although the rest of the building remained in use until 1980, when the building was torn down.

In the late 1950's the stained glass windows were installed in the church.  In the 1960's the sanctuary was remodeled and a new organ was installed in 1974.  The church continues to serve the congregation today.

Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

Original St. Athanasius Church/school building.  the annex added in 1928 can be seen to the left of the tower, 1945.
St. Athanasius Church, 2002
Sanctuary of original church, 1945.

File Attachments:


PreviewAttachmentSize
St. Athanasius Parish Map.pdf208.36 KB