Saint Joachim, Greenfield
This parish is presently located at:
St. Joachim was established as a Slovak parish in 1909. The origin of the parish can be traced to the arrival of Slovak immigrants to the area before the turn of the century. Early in 1909, a group of local Slovaks petitioned the bishop for permission to form their own parish. The bishop gave his permission and the first Mass of the new parish was celebrated on November 14, 1909, in the Greenwood Club Hall. The parish continued to use the hall for Masses until a church could be built. Work on a church began in 1910 and was quickly concluded. The dedication took place on August 21, 1910. The parish continued to grow and an addition was built on the church. The addition was blessed on August 16, 1914.
The congregation began dropping in the 1930's and 1940's as industrialization invaded the area. Homes of parishioners were torn down to make way for new mills and highways. After World War II, the drop in population was accelerated by the migration of people from the city to the suburbs. By the early 1990's, it became obvious that the parish could no longer stand as an independent entity. In 1993, St. Joachim merged with St. Rosalia to form a new parish. The new parish retained the name St. Rosalia. St. Joachim Church remains open and continues to serve the new parish.