Saint Joseph the Worker
Sunday: 9:30 a.m.
Weekdays: M 6:00 p.m.; T 7:00 a.m.
Monday: 5:00-5:45 p.m.; By Appointment
Administrative Center:1111 S Cascade Street
New Castle, PA 16101
Religious Education, Mary, Mother of Hope Parish:124 N Beaver St
New Castle, PA 16101
The parish family of St. Joseph the Worker strive to be compassionate, hospitable and Spirit-filled.
We are committed to making God's presence more vibrant in our lives and to serving all children of God, especially those in need.
With the celebration of the Eucharist as our source and summit, we strive to be an enduring beacon of hope to all who seek the truth and peace found only in Jesus Christ.
St. Joseph was founded as a German ethnic parish in 1888. The previous winter, a delegation of German speaking Catholics from New Castle presented Bishop Richard Phelan with a request for a new parish. The Bishop appointed a committee of three priests in May 1888 to investigate the need for a new church. Based on their recommendation, the first pastor of St. Joseph was appointed on August 11, 1888.
The new congregation purchased an existing church, the First Methodist Episcopal Church located on Jefferson Street. This building, constructed around 1838, had briefly served as the Lawrence County Court House from 1850-1852. The building was remodeled and dedicated on December 18, 1888.
On April 25, 1892, the church was destroyed in a fire. It was rebuilt on the same site. While the church was being rebuilt, services were held at Fleckenstein Hall. On June 11, 1893, the new church building was dedicated. The facade of the church was renovated in the 1930's and the interior was redecorated in the 1940's.
On June 9, 1954, St. Joseph parish boundaries were changed and the parish was designated as a territorial parish. As a result, property for new church facilities was purchased on Cascade St. On May 1, 1955, ground was broken for a school which would also serve as a temporary church. The new building was dedicated on December 11 of that year. The last Mass at the old church was held on September 1, 1958. Shortly afterwards, the church was torn down and the building was sold. On September 18, 1960, ground was broken for a new church. The church was dedicated on April 14, 1962. This church continues to serve the parish congregation today.